# MEETING

# **Business Meeting: Election of Academy Officers**

Dan Cordon, Interim President, called the meeting to order at 8:20 a.m. EDT.

Peter Smith confirmed that a quorum was present so that official business could be conducted.

**Approval of 2014 minutes.** The minutes were approved as written.

#### **Introduction of Current Board Members -**

Jim Morgan – Immediate Past President

Dan Cordon - Interim President

Peter Smith - Treasurer

Joyce Adams - Secretary

Masila Mutisya - Membership chair

## 2014-15 Accomplishments - Dan shared:

- Members of the Academy and members of the conference planning committee attended the winter meeting at VSU.
- Working drafts of articles were further developed that led to several articles being published in the latest IJPE. Other articles will be published after completion.
- After the Winter Meeting several academy members were able to attend the Teachers' Institute at VSU sponsored by Pacific Crest
- The Academy's current membership is @ 350 members, with 7 Institutional memberships
- The Academy website has been updated and Tris shared logon information.
- The Strategic Plan includes guidelines for forming local chapters

#### **Treasurer's Report** - Peter shared:

- The sources of revenue for the Academy are: registration fees for conference, institutional memberships and \$60 to renew membership.
- A copy of the treasurer's report was included in the binder. Peter pointed out that he expects the
  cost of the conference to exceed revenue because of the cost of food. 60 people indicated that they
  would attend the dinner on Friday night and 19 attended. The Academy had paid for a buffet for
  60 persons.

Libby read the following audit report, "We have examined the financial records of the Academy of Process Educators for fiscal year 2014-15 and found them to be in good order."

The statement was signed by Joann Horton, Libby Mahaffey, & Robert Wieman

#### **Election of New Board Members:**

Dan Cordon presented the nomination committee's slate of officers and asked for nominations from the floor. It was moved and properly seconded that the nominations be closed with the stated names. The motion carried. It was then moved by Lisa Davis and seconded by Tris Utschig that the ballot be accepted. The slate was approved unanimously. The newly elected officers are:

- President-elect- Joyce Brasfield Adams
- Secretary- Matt Watts
- Finance Officer-Libby Mahaffey
- Board Members at Large Chaya Jain, Teressa Taylor, & Robert Wieman

## **Preparation for Conference Assessment:**

Tris provided the link for the assessment.

The meeting adjourned at 8:52 a.m. Joyce Brasfield Adams
Secretary